Shipwrecked

 It may be the weather right now (which is a bit gloomy and wet) or the thought that back home its already the rainy season, but it seems fitting to write this right now. 🙂

For the past few weeks, I have been following the story of the Apostle Paul in the book of Acts and have now come to the later chapters, particularly chapters 24 to 27. These chapters narrate about Pauls various trials, physical, mental, emotional, social, and spiritual. Having read his experiences, made me realise how tough and courageous he was in the eyes of others who shared the same faith and how foolish and crazy he must have looked like to others who did not believe him. I really admire Paul’s boldness to share how Christ changed him. He never wasted his opportunities and always made the best of his situation, no matter how horrible they were (check the book of Acts for all his “mishaps”). He was a source of encouragement, also a hard-worker (he did side jobs apart from talking about Christ).

All these experiences and life accounts of Paul really amazes me. At times, they seem too good to be true, but reflecting on these made me realise that, in a much simpler way (my experiences don’t even compare to what Paul had to go through), I may be going through some Paulish moments right now. Well to start with I am going through what my coursemates and I would like to call as DISSERTATION (all caps for emphasis and maybe thunder afterwards) 😵. I have a few months left till my UK MA life is over. I don’t really know how to feel. On the one hand, the struggle is real with the process of writing and self-discipline is hard and on the other I will be missing this place and the experience. Another thing that lingers, as I write this, is the thought of after all these things. What’s next? The preferred path would be employed, but what to do and where are the things that comes to mind (and also expectations by myself and people). It is a lot to think about at the moment, so I choose to just go with the first struggle, dissertation. A friendly tip to those planning an MA keep writing and reading or start those habits. I have been reading a lot of interesting books and articles on the topic I plan on doing and have been trying (oh the inward struggle of laziness and feeling of being overwhelmed) to write bits and pieces of it.

So why am I writing all of these… well because today I came across Acts 27 where Paul is on a ship and he is about to be caught in a really bad situation… a shipwreck. (DO read the passage its really interesting!) Paul together with some soldiers, crew, and fellow prisoners have been caught at sea. He tells them that there is good news and bad news. Good news is all of them will reach their destination, bad news they will be shipwrecked. In the midst of Paul’s encouragements, verse 25 spoke to me.

“ So take courage! For I believe God. It will be just as He said.” – Acts 27:25

The verse stood out because it’s what I need right now. I need to be courageous and face my incoming shipwreck. Along with that mindset, I have to always remember that it is never by my own strength that I am able to accomplish things, but rather it is because I have God who helps me. And as a bonus the last part of the verse says “It will be just as He said”. Before stepping out in faith and taking on this MA, God already assured me that He will carry me through. Now thinking about this, He did not say that it was going to be easy. Reflecting on the past months I have spent here, I could say He really has carried me this far and I believe He will allow me to finish this. It’s only a matter of me doing my part (reading and writing) and surrendering everything else to God.

Well, I hope this inspires and encourages you. 😉

 

IMG_4185

Stay dry! ☔️

 Dot

P.S. All photos are personally owned by the author. Kindly ask permission before using or at least cite the source. Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

